#HAWMC: Talk of Good News

This post continues the month-long series called the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (#HAWMC) created by WEGO Health.  Today’s writing prompt:  Best conversation I had this week. Try writing script-style (or with dialogue) today to recap an awesome conversation you had this week.

I found this prompt extremely challenging and was about to give up.  I went to church this morning and had a beautiful conversation with the pastor of my church after the service ended.  It was short, sweet and effective but it conveyed such excellent news it had to be shared.

Me: Reverend, please tell your wife that I continue thinking of her through her illness and I’m praying for her daily.

Reverend: I will.  You know she got the kidney, right?

Me: Really?! No, I did not know…when?

Reverend: About two weeks ago

Me: Wow, that is really fantastic.  I’m so glad!

Though there is nothing complex here, the backstory is compelling. Last November (during Donor Sabbath observance), my pastor’s wife shared a testimony of her twenty year battle with kidney disease and the current organ failure that placed her on the United Network of Organ Sharing Waiting List. I attended her monthly bible study, something that has evolved into a supportive community of women of all ages, she had never shared this with us.  Even, during the prior February when I discussed my advocacy work in organ donation with the circle of women, our leader never made the issue personal.  So when I learned of her personal struggle with kidney disease in November, it was both  ironic and enlightening. I am so happy that such a generous and gifted women has been granted a life-saving organ.  Hopefully, she will continue to recover without complications.  I don’t know the circumstances as of yet.  Since it is a kidney, I will have to wait for more news (at bible study) to learn if the donor was living or deceased.  Never-the-less, my heart goes out to the donor and his/her family.

Read what quotes inspire other health activists at the WEGO Health Facebook Page.

What do you say?

  • Preview The Book

    Visit the website for the book III GIFTS.

  • In The News

    The Herald-Sun presented a large feature of III Gifts poems and photographs to kick off National Donate Life Month. It included the articles, A Living Tribute and Love of Arts... providing a comprehensive and personal perspective of organ donation. Cliff Bellamy, Book & Entertainment Editor described the book as "very insightful." Click through the links and be sure to check them out.

